Posted by: PilotRose | March 13, 2012

Nigeria Exposed

It’s been a long time! My last rotation in Nigeria was quite relaxing.  I only flew 10 of the 31 days I was there; however, I did spend quite a few days volunteering in the office.  I’m working with another pilot to modify our Standard Operating Procedures and implement other things to give us a safer and more efficient operation.  I’ve been back in the states for a few weeks and it’s already getting to be that time again.  I’ll be heading back next week to Lagos.

Leanna and I are still planning to write a book on Nigeria, and I myself, plan to make a film as well. I’m thinking of doing several time-lapse videos and other interesting shots of the country, or should I say Lagos.  I want to convey the overall feeling and vibe of Lagos to the world.  So I’ll be bringing all of my camera gear this rotation and will be working on that during my free time.

Speaking of videos, here is a “Day in the Life” video I made last rotation, I hope you enjoy it!

“A Day in the Life of a Pilot,” By Casey Rose.

Responses

  1. Great production Casey. It’s cool seeing you floating through th clouds. Excellent choice of music. Nice!

    • Thanks a lot Tracy! Thanks for checking the video out!

  2. Nice to read that you are still having the Lagos experience. Your Video was very nice with Very good Camera angles though a bit blurry. I really think you’ll make a nice documentary/ Film on Nigeria. Be sure to alert the authorities though, they can be a bit edgy with a foreigner and a camera roaming around. Take care sir..

    • Yeah the camera I was using was a GoPro HD2, and the plastic casing which protects the camera was dirty, or had some oil or something which made the video less clear than it should be. I’ll use better cameras or take off the housing next time for sure. Thanks for your warning on the authorities, I know how they operate, but it’s easy to get over-confident and get into some real trouble.

  3. Pilot cassey,I love reading ur Articles n hope to meet u in one of my trips cos I fly with aril alwz.

    • Right on! Yeah keep an eye on your pilots and one day it may be me. Cheers

  4. I smiled all through watching the video, that was really cool.

    • Glad you enjoyed the video!

  5. Cool video Casey – but you need an FMST for that Q4 😀


Leave a comment

Categories