Posted by: PilotRose | March 31, 2012

My First Dog, Sadie Sue Rose

_IGP5356

Today I have some bad news.  My dog, Sadie, passed away after nearly 13 wonderful and happy years.  My family and I picked up Sadie when she was 8 weeks old.  I remember when I picked her from the litter.  She was lying on the bark dust with her back to the grass and was very tranquil.  Little did we know she’d become one of the most energetic of the litter!  I had her by my side during her first few weeks at our house, and repeatedly took her out front in the middle of the night so she could relieve herself.  For our first family dog, I think she turned out to be a wonderful dog.  Actually, I know she did.  She brought so much enjoyment into not only our lives, but friends and complete strangers. 

IMGP2194

This is especially hard for me since she is the first and only dog I have ever owned, it’s very hard to come to the realization that I wont get to come home to her and have her greet me at the door.  This is a feeling that many people have gone through in their lives, and now I can finally say I know what it feels like.  It’s horrible.   

Sadie was the ultimate companion, and like most dogs, she knew how to look extremely sad and give you a guilt trip anytime you attempted to leave without her.  She has been backpacking, camping, whitewater rafting, among many other activities.  So needless to say, when she was out and about, she was in her element.  Early on, if there was a log in her way, or a river crossing she was worried about, I would leave her on her own and continue on a bit to teach her to be resourceful and not always require help from others except of course in extreme circumstances.

IMGP9463

I remember one time in particular.  On the Washougal River in Washington State, my friends and I were tubing down a rapid called the “Big Eddy.” Sadie nervously looked on as we began our descent down the rapids, and she couldn’t help but jump out to get to us.  The rapids began sweeping downriver but she quickly found a small bundle of rocks that she latched on to.  Some people tried to help her and I told them not to, I wanted her to get out of the mess she had gotten herself into by herself.  The water wasn’t very deep so I stood up and encouraged her to get up and make her way back, and after about 3-5 minutes, she finally got herself up and swam back to safety and later met us down at the bottom of the rapids.  This time, she chose the safer route (down the rocks on the side of the rapid), and never again did she make the same mistake.

CJRP6927

Sadie was a fighter, a very tough Golden Retriever.  Nothing will ever replace her.  I will likely have other pets in the future.  But I will never forget Sadie Sue Rose. She will always be in our hearts. 

I’ll always love you Sadie, thank you for teaching me how to love and for always comforting me and making me smile no matter what mood I was in. 

IMGP2191 (2)


Responses

  1. Accept my sympathies, Pilot Rose. I’m not a dog person, myself, but the loss of a person,or pet is a blow because you always the little things the most that the person – or in your case – pet shared with you or did FOR you and the wound never really seems to get healed.

    You’re on the right track to much healing: you’ll get another dog but you do know it would never really be a replacement of Sadie.

    THANKS FOR SHARING THIS WARM STORY.
    emotanafricana.com

  2. That’s such a moving post! I believe Sadie would thank you for allowing her to be a great a dog with such an adventurous and loving life.

  3. I clicked “like” and then realised that might seem horribly insensitive. I ment that this is a very touching post about losing a loved pet. From the photos it looks like you have some wonderful memories to remember Sadie by. Thank you for sharing them.

  4. Casey, thanks for writing about ‘our Sadie’, as she enriched all of our lives, at a depth that can’t be described! Thanks for giving her very special memories as well. We will all miss her terribly:( Mom/Barb

  5. I’m very sad to hear the news- I too actually spent quite a bit of time with Sadie over the years hanging out with Casey and his family- all the way back about 8 years ago when i was 18 being a senior in highschool and first meeting sadie at caseys house- over the years she had an adventurous life and got to do many fun things and make alot of people happy- We would bring her to the washougal river every summer and she’d happily hop in the old Rodeo (caseys car) and we’d lay the old blankets down for her so she wouldnt get the car all wet after we got out of the river, – there are really just tons of wonderful memories with her, lots of caming and hiking, frisbee golf, she would come with us pretty much anywhere outside- i’ll never forget her and how she would always greet me so kindly, even after she hadn’t seen me in months sometimes, she’d always know who i was and i felt really close to her each time i’d come by – nobody lives forever, but i honestly feel she lived such a full and extrodinary life and her family really loved her and took such amazing care of her- she will always be missed and never be replaced – luckily we had her for the time we did and were gifted with so many memories

  6. Casey long time i wish to visit you and see you again in my life still missing you my best friend


Leave a comment

Categories